top of page

What Does Christian Comedy and Content Look Like?


Christian comedy isn't just making jokes about Judas being a beta male, although that is par for the course. My view of comedy as a Christian is pretty simple: entertain, but don't be disgusting.


Everyone has a different line for that though, and I try not to have me our the co-hosts of our podcast go too far for the sake of being funny.


"But I tell you that everyone will have to give account on the day of judgment for every empty word they have spoken." - Matthew 12:36


I don't want to make a joke that is just empty words. In my desire to entertain and make you laugh, I don't ever want to make a vulgar comment or joke that doesn't even hold any weight. Moving beyond comedy, I don't want to talk about anything, and I mean anything, without reason for it. One on hand, the purpose of our podcast and a lot of our content is to make you laugh, but it is also to talk about serious topics, I try to balance them.


Context matters. I'm not going to talk about sex if the subject isn't on something like teen pregnancies or homosexuality, because those are topics worth discussing, and in order to discuss them, sex has become the context, so of course then there's no point in sugarcoating things. But I'm not going to simply start talking about sex when we're chilling on a podcast having fun, because those comments I would consider vulgar.


So my philosophy on comedy and on content creation in general is, "don't make it about being vulgar, only get to that point if you need to."


I take this thought process into the language I use on the show as well. I have words I'm comfortable and have no problem saying, but for the most part, I use them sparingly on the show because I don't want to say things that offend when it's something small and superficial.


However in my content I don't bar being "offensive" because sometimes there is a genuinely good point to make and a genuinely funny thing to say that not everyone will like. It's not vulgar, and it's not a serious attack on anyone's character. Making light of a stereotype and playing into that can be entertaining, but it's not the same as a serious point I will make, and I try to make it clear when I'm joking and when I'm not.


But there will always be people who are offended, so I try to keep things a light PG-13 level on the show just out of the nature of the content, and as far as the jokes, I don't strive to be vulgar or strive to be mean-spirited in jokes I make.

6 views0 comments
bottom of page